Sign in to follow this  
Teg (DayZ)

Remove 1st or 3rd person - thoughts?

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to this game, only been playing for about a week or two now. Love it so far, very cool to take survival to such an extreme level...

One thing I am curious about though, is why does this game include third person mode? This might seem like a ridiculous question, as everyone including myself probably plays in third person. However, if this is a true survivor game, why do we have the option to play in third person? It's not realistic, and it's a HUGE advantage over first person players (if those players even exist). Being able to see around corners, 360 degree view without turning around, etc.

Every RPG that has the option for third or first view, the better players will always play in third. I like playing in third, i just wonder why RPGs even include first person to begin with. I would love to see a RPG that showcases true immersion by forcing you to play through the eyes of your character, and thus be limited in your reaction time and visibility as you would in real life.

Thoughts?

• Like 1

Not this again.  This topic has been discussed to death already.  Had over 100 pages of replies and started huge controversy.  Rocket has left 3rd person in for a reason.  He will add servers later on that will only allow 1st person for those who want to play on them.

Also, be sure to use the search function on the forums.  Chances are any question or idea you have has been asked or suggested already so it's a good idea to use it.  And btw, welcome to the forums!

• Like 3

This a topic of much discussion.

Lots of people wish to see it removed due to being able to peek around corners and over cover.

Lack of situational awareness is no longer a problem with the fov slider so yes it should be removed.

There is no excuse to keep it.

• Like 1

Im all for servers with only one option eg a  only1st person server.