Caitlin

Gender Discrimination and Prejudice

Hello  :)

I don’t know how to write this. Predominantly, I am worried that most will look at this with prejudice and that the term ‘attention whore’ will be thrown around.

I guess what I am trying to say is; please take this seriously, as it is in no way an attempt to seek attention of any kind. It is meant as a serious discussion on an issue, which has significantly ruined my gaming experience to the point at which I am considering giving up on this game entirely.

Although I am fairly new to this game, I have had my fair share of really bad experiences (KoS being the main one, but that is a discussion which is already going on). I am not sure whether this is just down to bad luck or simply bad gameplay by me.

Either way, what has bothered me the most (KoS aside) is the fact that most people are very discontented about the fact that I am a girl. Some have even accused me of using voice-changing software when they hear my voice even though I never bring attention to my gender.

Before anyone says, “it’s because you were a threat/bandit/mean/” that they mistreat you. I don’t play as a Bandit. Heck, for the most part I’ve been trying to play as a Medic/Hero although this hasn’t worked out very well so far. I am very nice and helpful to everyone I meet. Therefore, people have no reason for shooting me or mistreating me. In many cases, I am certain that if I had a male voice, people would be much nicer to me.

There was one time where a few minutes after re-spawning, I came across a big group of people (about 5-7) whom started shooting in my direction as soon as they saw me. I immediately went on to say, “Please don’t shoot. I do not have anything. I have just spawned” while holding my hands up. One of them walked right up to me and said, “It doesn’t help being a girl in this game, so bye.” Then he killed me.