Sign in to follow this  
Spectator (DayZ)

New Player, 20 hours in, I'm decently geared, now what?

I apologize if this thread is redundant or rambly, I'm just new to Dayz SA (20 hours in, didn't play mod) and have several questions:

So I have enough gear to survive zombie encounters and stay alive against the elements, but I'm avoiding pvp encounters because I haven't survived one yet. I've had people tell me they're friendly only to kill me first chance.

So, what do I do now? Do I just need to head to bases or crash sites for military gear, to survive these encounters? Is the point to gear up and pvp, or just survive the longest?

Also, it seems like this game would be much more fun in groups, without posting in a recruitment thread how do I join groups/find players I can trust?

Also, dammit sorry, I've heard that server jumping is a mortal sin but I can't seem to find a stable server I want to stay in, either because its buggy, unpopulated, or full. I'm on the west coast of NA, any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

• Like 2

Server jumping is frowned upon, only if you use it to exploit something. For example if you just cleared out a military building, then switch servers just to reloot the same building on a different server, that is a no-no. If you are in combat, then log out, relocate yourself, and log back in to attack from a different position, that is called ghosting and you will bring dishonor to your family name and tribe.

If your server is just a piece of junk, get outta there. No one likes playing on a janky server.