Sign in to follow this  
themightylc

I think it might be a grave mistake, calling this "Beta"

Disclaimer: I love DayZ, I believe in this game and I have watched the development very closely and given my background as a professional developer I think I have a better-than-average understanding of it. 

I was playing for two hours yesterday and I had a lot of fun. However...

I don't think the current 0.63 stable release should have been advertised as "the beta release."

After 10 Minutes of normal playtime I lost my hatchet unreachable inside a tree's hitbox and died a little later after logging out because my character was hovering mid-air on a ladder (the actual cause of this I think was a M3 hood spawning next to  the ladder exit and not giving my character enough space to be placed down).

I fully understand this is fixable - maybe easily so. I know this isn't the finished product 1.0 (whatever the heck that will be but that's another topic) and I should report this on the Feedback tracker.

But look at this from the perspective of a normal player, who hasn't touched the game in two years and is jumping in now because there are new Videos and Screenshots and the Label "BETA" in the Steam Shop - suggesting that the game is 99.9% complete. After all in the current gaming industry environment "Beta" has become something of a synonym for "playable demo". What will this person think? Especially - and i the biggest issue I see right now - if there is no disclaimer at the start of the game anymore, that this is work in progress and things can still change.

"The game is just as broken as before with less content (=weapons) than ever. Those videos, screenshots, professionally shot annoucements from Eugen and the others... This looks more like a scam than a step forward in development"