Sign in to follow this  
fanfornow

Improving realism, reducing KOS, etc.

I wrote this post for the KOS thread under General, in response to those frustrated with the frequency of KOS in the game, but I thought it would be worth putting here under suggestions as well.

I think some added realism would help the situation.  I'm a veteran of the Marine Corps and a private gun owner for the past nine years, I helped get concealed carry passed in Illinois, I study self-defense, ballistics, handgun and long gun stopping power and I'm here to tell you that there is no guarantee of a one-shot kill or stop, let alone an instantaneous stop where the target is incapacitated immediately, especially when real world marksmanship or lack thereof come into play.  If the KOS'er knows that his intended victim may get a shot back at him, they may not be as apt to shoot.  So make it more likely to find pistols and less likely to find rifles, pistol have significantly less reliable stopping power, range and accuracy.  

In the civilian world, more people tend to have handguns and hunting rifles/shotguns (though this has been changing) and I would argue that those are the things you're more likely to find lying around.  Make ammo more precious, with the added shots it takes to actually put someone down, hopefully someone with any sense would realize they shouldn't be wasting rounds on someone who isn't a threat.  Let people spawn in with a pistol, just because you're fresh in this "zombie apocalypse" doesn't mean you just dropped into planet earth naked, most people who are going to survive are going to be preppers or who would have some means of survival, it's not just dumb luck.