Sign in to follow this  
-Gews-

Melee system

The current hand-to-hand combat sucks, since it's just technically a modified shooting system, that's understandable. I was playing Mount and Blade and they have a pretty decent melee system. Not all the aspects of medieval sword combat can apply to DayZ, but some of the features I liked were:

-directional attacks: you basically hold the left button and swing your mouse in the direction you want to hit. This allows you to swipe at someone's head, or their legs, or thrust at their stomach, etc.

-blocking: same thing, except you click the right mouse button and move it in the correct direction. Pick the wrong direction and you don't block the attack. I'm not very good at that. Problems with this - DayZ uses the right mouse button to zoom in. Also, I don't think random survivors would have great parrying skills with a hatchet or other random objects, but some form of simplified skill-based blocking would be nice.

I'd like to see some form of this in the Standalone instead of simply "click the button to repeat the same hit animation". It makes combat a lot more fun.

Ideas? More suggestions?

Edited by Gews
  • Like 5

maybe if you attack at the same time the weapons clash and that counts as a block instead of a separate block function.

• Like 1

maybe if you attack at the same time the weapons clash and that counts as a block instead of a separate block function.

Yup, that is also incorporated in Mount & Blade, although it's hard to do (it's gonna be extremely difficult to block some guy going apeshit on your dome with a hatchet in real life, too).

• Like 1

Honestly before we get into the mechanics of melee I think we should work on the weapons first. As of right now there are only two. They should include fists, knives, swords, vases, blunt objects, etc. Then the combat should get a overhaul. But that's jut my opinion.