Mack2923

Custom Loadouts

Hello Community.

I am a brand new server owner and am, like many others, trying to customize the experience for my players.

I am not a programmer, coder, modder. I am a player that is trying to expand his knowledge and create something unique. I do have a strong background in MS Excel so I am not totally ignorant to opening and closing operators, arguments, etc. This background has helped me quite a bit so far but i keep running into the same wall....i don't know this language, its operators, commands, etc.

I look through the int c file and my eyes get blurry and sometimes i drool in confusion.

I do best when i can actually comprehend what the code says instead of just copy/paste and fiddle with it until it works. Ideally I would like to be able to read a line of code in my init.c file and be able to read it like a sentence in a book.

If anyone can point me towards a good reference it would be much appreciated. 

Specifically i am trying to customize the load out for new spawns. I have seen many examples while sifting through search results. I have seen pages that detail multiple loadouts, arrays of loadouts, etc.

I am just trying to get one simple yet generous loadout for my players.

1. Is there any way to get a rifle to spawn in a specific rifle slot? I saw one post that suggested to put rifles first as the AI will automatically put it in a rifle slot. The post also detailed to put the attachments to the rifle next in terms of code as not to have the attachments end up in the jacket or pants inventory.

2. This is what I have pieced together so far:

player.RemoveAllItems();

EntityAI itemEnt;
        ItemBase itemBs;
        float rand;

player.GetInventory().CreateInInventory("ChestHolster");itemBs = ItemBase.Cast(itemEnt);
        player.GetInventory().CreateInInventory("MakarovIJ70");itemBs = ItemBase.Cast(itemEnt);
        player.GetInventory().CreateInInventory("Mag_MakarovPB_8Rnd");itemBs = ItemBase.Cast(itemEnt);