Sign in to follow this  
Omikse

I am a Noob

Hey all: 

I am new to DayZ. Been wondering around on the Official servers to try and get a handle on how to play. I am finding it a bit difficult in learning this game since so far I have not found a tutorial for it to help me get the basics down. Is there someplace other than YouTube the can help with this? I look at the community servers but they all seem to be password so no entry there. What do I need to do to get get on one of those? So help a noob out and point me in the right direction.

@Omikse

There really isn't a tutorial for DayZ -- you learn by playing.

First and foremost, you need patience to play at first, because you will die quite often -- sometimes to the environment, sometimes to a bullet through the brain.

I would start by learning the map.  Use an external resource like iZurvive to get an idea of where things are.  You can use the town signs on the roads to pinpoint your location.  Once you figure out where you are, choose a destination and make it your goal to get there.  Loot the towns and areas along the way.

The most important item you'll need at first is a knife.  If you can't find one, search for a pick axe or sledgehammer and if you find one of those, you can bang them against large boulders to chip off stones that you can combine and turn into a stone knife.  You can search for stones along paths as well.

Once you have a knife, you're golden in terms of surviving.  Search for wildlife to kill and cook.  You can use the knife to cut them up, but also to scrape some bark off a tree in order to get a fire going.  Look for a house with a chimney and you'll most likely be able to cook your kill in there.