schylerchase

Learning The Map

Hello.

I am very new to DayZ, and I have a hard time learning the map... Can someone help me? I play the mod.

• Like 1

I can help you move your topic to the mod section.

As for the map, you can find it if you google it, but using an out-of-game map really ruins the feel of the game in my opinion.

• Like 2

Just go on Arma 2, spawn a car in the editor and drive around for awhile. And if you really need it, use an online map (I recommend DayZDB) but as previously stated, that really ruins the game. Believe it or not, one of the funnest parts about DayZ is not knowing the map and not knowing how to deal with zombies - Because the game is much more intense when your on your tows all the time, running from barn to barn across the countryside at midnight, flares lighting the way... Sadly for me, after 800 hours, I know every single pebble on the ground in Chernarus, and what Zombies? you mean that fly?

I will never again experience the real thrill of DayZ - Being confused and scared shitless.

If you want to learn the map while actually playing, i'de suggest finding a PVE Epoch mod server. There are usually people willing to take in a newer player, (Atleast, I used too. Again, PVE servers) and it's usually necessary to drive across the map in Epoch. I learned a lot about the main roadways from my guide who's name is lost to history, But you won't learn much about the Backroads doing that. Eventaully once you've got a decent mental map, and do some AI missions for target practice, hop back on a Vanilla/Epoch/whatever your playing PVP server and you'll kick ass.