jayboltz

Night time doesn't serve a purpose

I started playing recently and I've noticed a trend, all servers that are in the night phase are always depopulated. I've tried finding one with more than like 2-3 people and I can't.

So from what I can tell, the night periods last for about as long as it does in real life, I think this is a problem. The night period is obviously a huge pain in the ass to actually do anything in, and if you do try to navigate your way through without night vision (too rare to be a solution) then you're stuck with using the flash light. Now if you're using a flash light, you make yourself a massively bright "PLEASE KILL ME" beacon to anyone in the area. And with the KOS atmosphere of the game, no one with any semblance of intelligence is going to use it.

Now, obviously this can all be avoided by simply leaving the server in favor of one that is on day time hours. But if you can just leave a server that's on night in favor of daytime then it really serves no purpose. However, I think it is detrimental because in a game like this, the whole atmosphere of night time is a big part of the immersion and sense of danger. A simple solution would be to adjust the day/night cycle so that they come every 30 minutes to an hour or so (similar to the day/night cycles in the GTA games). Also I think the level of darkness should be adjusted so that it isn't like staring at a black screen (in real life your eyes will adjust even during a cloudy night to be able to make out some objects).

Maybe some of you are thinking "OMGEE!!! DUDDE THATS NOT REALISTIC BRUH THE EARTH DOESNT ROUND N 1 HR BRUH THIS GAMES BOUT REALISM BRUH." Be reminded that realism should not detract from gameplay. Besides, its not "realistic" that a stick of morphine will somehow heal a broken leg and allow you to continue your 10 kilometer trek across hilly forest terrain, but it does in this game because otherwise it'd be stupid.