Sign in to follow this  
Deek (DayZ)

Reintroducing Humanity: Thoughts

I'm brand new to DayZ and I'm loving it. Like so many have said, it's "the game I've been waiting for".

I've been busting my head, thinking of ways to lend more weight to the life and death choices a survivor makes while struggling to survive. Do they choose to uphold a moral code, attempting to scratch out a meager living alongside other like-minded souls? Or, do they abandon all pretense of civilization and murder their way to a relatively comfortable existence?

I got to thinking, upon removing the laws and restraints of civilized society, what remains to keep an individual in check? What is left to ensure that at least SOME people will struggle to uphold a semblance of morality in an atmosphere of lawless anarchy?

1. Someone will find out! Even in a reality where communication is reduced to camp fire tales (and global chat), an individual will pause and consider: "What happens if someone finds out what I've done?"

So how? I say add an ability called "Intuit" (or something). Once within a certain distance of another survivor, one can mouse over and select "Intuit", at which point they will be told whether the target is White, Gray or Black (humanity wise). The results speak for themselves. The catch? You can only do this once every X number of in-game hours. You do NOT have a free Intuit at the beginning of the game. You have to survive a certain length of time before you've gained the experience to settle your nerves and trust your gut, "I've got a bad feeling about this guy ..."

The vast majority of people will be gray (likely the largest numerical spread of potential humanity values), but on occasion you will find a white (innocent!) or a black (evil!), and react accordingly (and with due caution). It would take a long string of wholesale slaughter to drop someone to black. These would be the worst of the worst. Legendary boogeymen bandits. Nightmare griefers.