Magnet (DayZ)

[VIDEO GUIDE] Installation & Tutorial (+BETA)

UPDATED : 27/05/12

Hi guys,

I'm in the midst of creating a video series aimed at introducing our newest players to ArmA2 and DayZ. It's my first attempt at making narrated videos so I've kinda winged it but hopefully I'm covering the right points in order to ease newer players in.

The videos cover a range of topics such as the current installation, re-spawn mechanic, gameplay aspects, interfaces and controls, navigation plus a whole bunch of general advice and tips.

Make sure you right click the video and select "Watch on YouTube" to view in high quality.

Comments and critique are welcome as I intend on developing further "Survival" videos as new features are implemented and I get better and narrating.

Any requests for specific videos can be directed to me here or by e-mail to magnet@nobodycares.com.au

Please Enjoy;

TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Current Installation:

Old Installation:

Note: Installation method still works, it's just not as current.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Ib73cBf_-Ys

CONTENTS:

- Combining ArmA 2 and Operation Arrowhead on Steam.

- Downloading and organising DayZ mod files

- Downloading and setting up Spirited Machine's ArmA 2 Launcher

- Launching DayZ

ALSO SEE - PsiSyndicate's Installation Video if you're having issues!

TUTORIALS

Part One:

CONTENTS:

- Logging on to a Server

- Re-spawning after Death

- Interface and Gameplay Familiarisation (Includes weapon selection, flares, equipment etc.)

Part Two:

CONTENTS:

- Nighttime Navigation

- Ladders

- Stances

- Entering/Scavenging Towns

Part Three:

CONTENTS:

- First Zombie! (Unfortunately bugged)

- Navigating to and searching Ruins/Bases.

- Meeting Zombies that work!

Part Four:

CONTENTS:

- The Map

- Choosing what to take

- Alternate weapons

- YES I KNOW IT'S A SHOTGUN

- Tents

- Packs/Stealing etc.

- Meeting and interacting with other players (Channels, survivor etiquette etc.)