Sign in to follow this  
S3V3N

Dayz Standalone Mod: Arkansas

Hi!

I've been juggling with the idea of working on a Dayz mod for quite some time now. Since I am an Environment Modeler, I decided to start picking some locations and looking for models to get started with. There is still a long way to go, before modding support becomes availablefor DayzSA, but I want to prepare the models as best I can, so by the time it comes available a capable coder and more support can come in and work with the assets and create more. We'll also need some people to dress the map.

Technically, I was thrilled by the announcement that future files will be *.fbx format, which will make it easy for me to work on buildings and secures the option to have double Uv-sets, e.g. for exterior and interior of buildings. Technically, there should be no problem, and I will post updates in the thread as I get them ready. As soon as the option becomes available, I will also show them in-editor/modelviewer, as opposed to in my modeling program, Maya.

Enough of the introduction, here is the area I am thinking about: Arkansas!

Before you shout: "but why not New York?", I want to say that I'll create most buildings as enterable and even though New York might look nicer, it will be impossible (for me) to create that many different skyscrapers and shops which are at least partly lootable; the engine would not like that either ;) I want to start comparably small and I can only model so much by myself. It is entirely possible there will be other versions and other areas later. Arkansas is visually also not too big a departure from Dayz, but I believe it is different enough to feel fresh.